Combat versus not combat effect

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Star Trek Mods

Combat versus not combat effect

Postby darkarth » Mon Oct 30, 2017 5:06 am

How does interphase generator resolve with the damage taken from cloaked mines with the new rule book?

Interphase Generator FAQ 2014
2. The Interphase Generator takes effect during Step 7 of the Combat Phase (Deal Damage). The [Hit] symbol should have been replaced with the word "damage." This damage cannot be canceled by an Evade result.

New rulebook entry;
Combat Effects come in three types:
1. Any effect that occurs within the Combat Phase. For example, an effect that would activate during the Modify Attack Dice step.
2. Any effect that would cause an attack to be made outside of the normal Combat Phase or damage to be dealt. For example, an Action that would allow for an attack to be made during the Activation Phase.
3. Any effect that would affect the attack dice or defense dice being rolled during an attack. This includes anything that would add, subtract, replace, modify, re-roll, or otherwise affect the dice. For example, the Cloak Action provides a Cloak Token which replaces the ship’s Agility Value with its Agility Value plus four. Since this affects the Agility Value (which affects the amount of defense dice being rolled), this is considered a Combat Effect
darkarth
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:29 am

Re: Combat versus not combat effect

Postby stawrulesteam » Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:42 pm

darkarth wrote:How does interphase generator resolve with the damage taken from cloaked mines with the new rule book?

Interphase Generator FAQ 2014
2. The Interphase Generator takes effect during Step 7 of the Combat Phase (Deal Damage). The [Hit] symbol should have been replaced with the word "damage." This damage cannot be canceled by an Evade result.

New rulebook entry;
Combat Effects come in three types:
1. Any effect that occurs within the Combat Phase. For example, an effect that would activate during the Modify Attack Dice step.
2. Any effect that would cause an attack to be made outside of the normal Combat Phase or damage to be dealt. For example, an Action that would allow for an attack to be made during the Activation Phase.
3. Any effect that would affect the attack dice or defense dice being rolled during an attack. This includes anything that would add, subtract, replace, modify, re-roll, or otherwise affect the dice. For example, the Cloak Action provides a Cloak Token which replaces the ship’s Agility Value with its Agility Value plus four. Since this affects the Agility Value (which affects the amount of defense dice being rolled), this is considered a Combat Effect


Page 26 of the rule book (The Minefield Token) ""When a ship executes a Maneuver in which either the
Maneuver Template or the ship’s base physically overlaps a Minefield Token, this triggers the text of whichever card placed the Minefield Token in the play area.""
Cloaked Mines: ""If an enemy ship passes within Range 1 of the token, roll 3 attack dice (-1 if the target ship immediately performs a [SCAN] Action). Any [HIT] or [CRIT] damages the target ship as normal. The affected ship does not roll any defense dice.""

For the 3 definitions of Combat Effects on page 21 of the rulebook, for cloak mines:
(1) COMBAT PHASE - Cloaked Mines occur in activation phase, so it isn't a combat phase combat effect
(2) ATTACK - Cloaked mines  do DEAL DAMAGE outside of the combat phase (they obey the ""or damage to be dealt"" clause) so they are considered an COMBAT EFFECT.
(3) MODIFYING ATTACK DICE - This doesn't apply to Cloaked mines.

Thus Cloaked Mines are Combat Effect.

But Interphase Generator says ""When DEFENDING"" even though Cloaked Mines are a Combat Effect you are not defending. So you could not use them.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Combat versus not combat effect

Postby vitoga » Thu Mar 01, 2018 9:51 pm

But Interphase Generator says ""When DEFENDING"" even though Cloaked Mines are a Combat Effect you are not defending. So you could not use them.


Does that apply to all ""When DEFENDING"" modifiers?
For instance the USS Sutherland states

WHEN DEFENDING:
Cancel 1 {hit]

Does that not apply? Don't mostly all attack modifying cards for the defender all say "WHEN DEFENDING" or "Each time you defend"? I can think of only a few cards that don't use those phrases like the Val Jean doesn't.
vitoga
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2016 6:56 pm

Re: Combat versus not combat effect

Postby stawrulesteam » Fri Mar 02, 2018 2:05 am

Correct. Anything that references WHEN DEFENDING would not work.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Combat versus not combat effect

Postby howarden » Fri Mar 02, 2018 12:08 pm

Under the new rules how would this effect things such as Multi Adaptive shields which allows you to roll defense against cloaked mines? Would you be able to apply all normal replacements and modifiers to the roll?
howarden
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 10:20 am

Re: Combat versus not combat effect

Postby mrdumbazcanb » Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:39 pm

What if the ship being affected by the cloaked mines also had a navigational deflector equipped?
Since you can roll defense dice now against the mines would the ship be considered as defendeding and could now trigger interphase generator or improved deflector screens?

Also does the Federation and Independent Navigational Deflector work the exact same way?
mrdumbazcanb
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 5:11 am

Re: Combat versus not combat effect

Postby stawrulesteam » Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:05 pm

howarden wrote:Under the new rules how would this effect things such as Multi Adaptive shields which allows you to roll defense against cloaked mines? Would you be able to apply all normal replacements and modifiers to the roll?


You would be able to modify and replace as normal since you're able to roll defense dice. However, it still does not count as defending.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Combat versus not combat effect

Postby stawrulesteam » Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:09 pm

mrdumbazcanb wrote:What if the ship being affected by the cloaked mines also had a navigational deflector equipped?
Since you can roll defense dice now against the mines would the ship be considered as defendeding and could now trigger interphase generator or improved deflector screens?

Also does the Federation and Independent Navigational Deflector work the exact same way?


This still does not count as defending.

Other than the fact that the Independents Navigational Deflector is one per ship they are functionally identical
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Star Trek: Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests

Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php