IKS Toral - Crew - Kulge

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Star Trek Mods

IKS Toral - Crew - Kulge

Postby drnicket » Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:45 pm

Kulge:
"ACTION: Discard this card to disable your Captain Card and place a [BATTLESTATIONS] Token beside your ship.

While your Captain Card is disabled, your Captain Skill is "0" and you may perform the [BATTLESTATIONS] Action as if it was on your Action Bar."

Based on my understanding of the game, Kulge's second half ability doesn't work. He's not in play and therefore has no text. How should we be using this card?


Also, if the second ability does work, how would he interact with Pegasus/Grissom Riker?

William T. Riker (Grissom):
"Modify the Captain Skill of the Captain equipped to this ship by +3.

IF THE CAPTAIN EQUIPPED TO THIS SHIP IS DISABLED OR DISCARDED: This ship's Captain Skill is 5.

IF THIS SHIP RECEIVES A FACE UP "COMMUNICATIONS FAILURE" OR "INJURED CAPTAIN" DAMAGE CARD: Flip that damage card face down."


Or Rotarran Worf:
"Increase your Captain's Skill by +1 (+3 for a Klingon Captain). This ability cannot be used on this card. If your Captain is disabled, discard, or affected by a critical damage card, treat this card as your Captain Card with a Skill of 5. If your Captain becomes non-disabled or unaffected by the critical damage card, that Captain Card is restored."
User avatar
drnicket
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 1:44 pm

Re: IKS Toral - Crew - Kulge

Postby stawrulesteam » Thu Mar 01, 2018 2:07 am

Admittedly, Kulge's effect should have been done through an effect which uses a continuous or permanent effect token next to the ship. So instead, Kulge's wording should be errated to say that his effect continues to operate even if Kulge is out of play. This is both the intent of the card and how it functions.

For Kulge and Riker ... these are both replacement effects. When there are multiple replacement effects to be applied, you can choose the order in which they are applied. So you could choose to replace first with 0 (Kulge) and then replace with 5 (Riker)

If you have both Riker, Worf and Kulge on a ship; there would be three replacement effects occuring at the same time. And again you could choose the order to apply them.

Note if there are also modifiers these are applied after the replacements (as per the rules on page 21 of the rulebook).
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Star Trek: Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php