Page 1 of 1

Spending tokens

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:07 am
by darkarth
With the new combat effect rules can battle stations tokens and evade tokens be spent outside of the normal combat phase?

If an ability allows a ship to make an attack outside of the normal Combat Phase, carry out the normal combat
steps of the Combat Phase for that attack. For the purposes
of all rules, the attack counts as being in the Combat Phase
and going through each of the combat steps. This means that
effects, such as those granted by a Cloak Token, would be in
effect.

Re: Spending tokens

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 1:55 am
by stawrulesteam
Absolutely. It counts as being in the normal Combat Phase so anything you could do during the Combat Phase can be done during any instance of combat.

Re: Spending tokens

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:40 am
by darkarth
What about in the scenarios of abilities that activate at the start combat phase?

For example - Admiral Worf triggers another ship to fire at Lurins BOP in the Activation Phase. Being combat (and if anything triggered also applies) Lurins ability triggers at the start and selects a Ferengi ship with Tarr. He now gets a BS token as it's the start of a 'Combat Phase'. Lurins BOP captain then spends a GPLT 'at the start of the combat phase' for a BS. Lurins BOP and Tarrs ship then play abilities to up attack value and now get to attack the Admiral Worf triggered ship and destroys it as it can only attack third.

Would that be a correct?

Admiral Worf
FLEET ACTION: Target a friendly ship at Range 1-2 with a Hull Value of 3 or less. The target ship immediately makes one free attack with its Primary Weapon against an enemy ship in its forward firing arc. Place an Auxiliary Power Token beside the target ship.

Tarr
At the start of the Combat Phase, if your ship is in the forward firing arc of an enemy ship and you do not have a [BATTLESTATIONS] Token beside your ship, you may place a [BATTLESTATIONS] Token beside your ship.

Lurin's Bird of Prey
COMBAT PHASE: If there is an opposing ship in the Primary Firing Arc of this ship and the Primary Firing Arc of another Ferengi ship with a Ferengi Captain equipped to it, target that friendly ship. This ship attack first this game round and the target ship attacks second this game round.

Re: Spending tokens

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 1:21 pm
by stawrulesteam
This would not be correct. Think of this as a mini combat phase where the only attack that takes place is the the one triggered by Admiral Worf.

Re: Spending tokens

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 5:08 pm
by drnicket
Does that mean Counter Attack still works then? Presumably because the ship Admiral Worf granted an attack to was fully resolved first.

"ACTION: If your ship's Shields or Hull are damaged by a ship in your forward firing arc this round, you may immediately make 1 free attack against that ship. You may not make this attack if your ship is destroyed."

Re: Spending tokens

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 5:42 pm
by dmontgomery
Are “start of combat phase” effects such as Warp Jump eligible to activate during activation phase attacks?
Essentially, is the micro combat phase a full combat phase that causes a start, during, end, or only a during?

Re: Spending tokens

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 6:23 pm
by stawrulesteam
drnicket wrote:Does that mean Counter Attack still works then? Presumably because the ship Admiral Worf granted an attack to was fully resolved first.

"ACTION: If your ship's Shields or Hull are damaged by a ship in your forward firing arc this round, you may immediately make 1 free attack against that ship. You may not make this attack if your ship is destroyed."


Yea, this would trigger another mini-Combat Phase and cause that attack to go through the Declare Target, Roll Attack Dice, Modify Attack Dice, Roll Defense Dice, Modify Defense Dice, Compare Results, and Deal Damage steps of the Combat Phase.

Re: Spending tokens

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 6:27 pm
by stawrulesteam
dmontgomery wrote:Are “start of combat phase” effects such as Warp Jump eligible to activate during activation phase attacks?
Essentially, is the micro combat phase a full combat phase that causes a start, during, end, or only a during?


No, this simply generates an instance of the steps of the Combat Phase and allows for cards that directly affect the attack to be used. Think of this as one specific ship's turn during the Combat Phase rather than the whole Combat Phase. Since you would've had to already use Warp Jump it at the start of the entire phase, you cannot use it now that it's a specific ship's turn.

Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php