Wave 0 - USS Enterprise - Montgomery Scott

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Star Trek Mods

Wave 0 - USS Enterprise - Montgomery Scott

Postby shinzon » Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:38 pm

The Text states:
"Action: Disable 2 of your Shields in order to gain +2 attack dice this round. -OR- Repair 1 Shield Token and reduce your total attack dice by 2 this round."

Is the second ability
-OR- Repair 1 Shield Token and reduce your total attack dice by 2 this round
part of the action or is it an ability that can be used instead of the action? If so, when do i use the ability?

Best regards and thank you for this board
User avatar
shinzon
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:33 pm

Re: Wave 0 USS Enterprise Montgomery Scott

Postby stawrulesteam » Wed Nov 05, 2014 1:40 pm

You give Scotty’s ship an action and choose one effect, either drop 2 shields to increase your attack dice or decrease your attack dice to repair a shield, for the action.
Like other actions, it occurs during the Perform Action step of the activation phase.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Wave 0 USS Enterprise Montgomery Scott

Postby arken42 » Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:33 pm

If a card such as William T. Riker [Crew] Lets Scotty take an action as a Free Action and you choose one of the Effects, may Scotty then do the other effect during the Perform Action Step or are both Effects considered the same Action?


William T. Riker: Add 1 [CREW] Upgrade slot to your Upgrade Bar. After you move, you may disable this card to perform the Action on one of your [CREW], [TALENT], or [TECH] Upgrades or your Captains Action as a free Action.
arken42
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:45 pm

Re: Wave 0 USS Enterprise Montgomery Scott

Postby stawrulesteam » Thu Nov 06, 2014 5:07 pm

Montgomery Scott has 1 ACTION with 2 optional effects. Any one ship cannot do the same ACTION twice in a turn, even if it is a free ACTION.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Wave 0 USS Enterprise Montgomery Scott

Postby paoloj » Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:34 pm

If the ship Montgomery Scott is on attacks twice or more in one round, does the ship get +2 attack dice per attack? Or, do we have to choose which attack/s to add the bonus to?
paoloj
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 6:14 pm

Re: Wave 0 USS Enterprise Montgomery Scott

Postby stawrulesteam » Fri Nov 07, 2014 1:44 pm

9. When a card ability allows a player to gain a certain number of attack or defense dice "this round" (for example, Scotty), how does this work?
For attack dice, this allows the player to add that many attack dice (in total) to his attack rolls during that round's Combat Phase. If a player is able to make multiple attacks during the same Combat Phase, the player may choose when to add the bonus attack dice. These dice can even be added to Secondary Weapon attacks.

For defense dice, this allows the player to add that many defense dice (in total) to his defense rolls during that round's Combat Phase. If the player is attacked multiple times during the same Combat Phase, the player can choose when to add the bonus defense dice.

Note that this type of text is different from a continuous bonus which does not use the phrase "this round" (for example, the text on Donatra or Terrell). A continuous bonus applies to all attack and defense rolls made by the affected ships during that round.


The FAQ states that you get +2 attack dice to use durring your attacks that round. You may split them (+2 on one attack, +1 on a attack & +1 another attack) however you want.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Star Trek: Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php