Deep Space Nine - T'rul

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Star Trek Mods

Deep Space Nine - T'rul

Postby daisy » Mon Nov 17, 2014 3:53 pm

When determining the number of defence dice you roll, does the attacker or defender modify the number first?

I would assume it would work the same as the modify defence dice step of the combat phase, where the attacker modifies before the defender.
daisy
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 10:35 pm

Re: T'rul vs Borg Missle

Postby stawrulesteam » Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:07 pm

Borg Missile "the target does not roll defense dice against this attack."

T'Rul "When your ship is cloaked, during the Roll Defense Dice step of the Combat Phase, you may choose to roll 3 less defense dice and add 1 evade result to your defense roll."

You are already rolling no dice. You may not roll any less dice to add evade results.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: T'rul vs Borg Missle

Postby daisy » Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:21 pm

So the attackers ability would modify the number of defence dice first.
daisy
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 10:35 pm

Re: T'rul vs Borg Missle

Postby stawrulesteam » Mon Nov 17, 2014 6:21 pm

Yes the opposing player modifies the dice first.
Then the rolling player may modify the dice.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: T'rul vs Borg Missle

Postby tsuyoshikentsu » Mon Nov 17, 2014 6:23 pm

Would Tom Paris therefore grant a defense die to the defending ship, as his ability would come after the attacker's?

"When defending, roll one extra defense die."
User avatar
tsuyoshikentsu
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 6:17 pm
Location: New Mexico

Re: T'rul vs Borg Missle

Postby stawrulesteam » Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:35 am

tsuyoshikentsu wrote:Would Tom Paris therefore grant a defense die to the defending ship, as his ability would come after the attacker's?

"When defending, roll one extra defense die."


No. Tom Paris lets you roll one extra defense die.
Borg Missile states that "you do not roll defense dice".
"No defense dice" does not equal "0 dice".
So 1 cannot be added to none.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Deep Space Nine - T'rul

Postby admiralpendragon » Sat Feb 06, 2016 12:12 am

"Add 1 [TECH] upgrade slot to your Upgrade Bar. While your ship is cloaked, during the Roll Defense Dice step of the Combat Phase, you may choose to roll 3 less defense dice and add 1 [EVADE] result to your defense roll. If the Cloaking Device upgrade card is deployed to T'Rul's ship, you do not need to disable that card when you perform the Action listed on it."


Can I "roll 3 less defense dice" even if I only have 2 defense dice to roll?
admiralpendragon
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 7:16 pm

Re: Deep Space Nine - T'rul

Postby stawrulesteam » Mon Feb 08, 2016 11:06 am

admiralpendragon wrote:
"Add 1 [TECH] upgrade slot to your Upgrade Bar. While your ship is cloaked, during the Roll Defense Dice step of the Combat Phase, you may choose to roll 3 less defense dice and add 1 [EVADE] result to your defense roll. If the Cloaking Device upgrade card is deployed to T'Rul's ship, you do not need to disable that card when you perform the Action listed on it."


Can I "roll 3 less defense dice" even if I only have 2 defense dice to roll?


No, you are required to roll 3 less defense dice to receive the evade token.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Star Trek: Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests

Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php