Hypersonic Speed

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: HeroClix Mods

Hypersonic Speed

Postby nickoli » Thu Aug 31, 2017 11:54 am

HYPERSONIC SPEED: BREAKAWAY +2. POWER: Halve range, ;Passenger; :0. Move, then make an attack, then move up to ‘your speed value minus the number of squares just moved’.


OBJECT PICK UP: Once per move, this character may either pick up one light object or put down one held object in a square it moves through or adjacent to.


Could a figure holding an object be given the POWER action to use Hypersonic, move as the first part of the action, dropping it's held object along the way, make it's attack, and then move as the second part of the action, picking up a different object along the way because it is considered a separate move?
nickoli
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 3:37 am

Re: Hypersonic Speed

Postby hcrulesteam » Fri Sep 01, 2017 6:30 pm

nickoli wrote:Could a figure holding an object be given the POWER action to use Hypersonic, move as the first part of the action, dropping it's held object along the way, make it's attack, and then move as the second part of the action, picking up a different object along the way because it is considered a separate move?

Yes. Hypersonic Speed is an action that contains two separate move instructions. You may pick up/put down an object per movement.
User avatar
hcrulesteam
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 3:26 pm

Re: Hypersonic Speed

Postby jhodak » Wed Sep 13, 2017 10:29 pm

HYPERSONIC SPEED: BREAKAWAY +2. POWER: Halve range, ;Passenger; :0. Move, then make an attack, then move up to ‘your speed value minus the number of squares just moved’.


BREAKING AWAY
If a character is adjacent to an opposing character (or another effect requires breaking away) and would begin a move, that character must successfully “break away” first. To break away, roll a d6. ;Dice4; - ;Dice6; : That character succeeds in breaking away from all opposing characters adjacent to it (and can move as planned). If the character fails to break away, it doesn’t move and is not considered to have moved.


If the character using HSS is adjacent to an opposing character after making the attack, will the character need to roll Breakaway before moving the 2nd time?
jhodak
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 2:52 pm

Re: Hypersonic Speed

Postby hcrulesteam » Thu Sep 14, 2017 9:57 am

jhodak wrote:If the character using HSS is adjacent to an opposing character after making the attack, will the character need to roll Breakaway before moving the 2nd time?

Yes.

Note that the character would only need to break away (possibly again) after making the attack and before the second movement. It does not have to break away during movement.

Also note that if the character fails to break away on the second move, it is only not considered to have moved for the second move. Any movement that occurred during the first move still counts (for any possible triggered effects).
User avatar
hcrulesteam
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 3:26 pm

Re: Hypersonic Speed

Postby ccraig » Thu Sep 14, 2017 12:28 pm

PLASTICITY BREAKAWAY +2. Adjacent opposing characters get BREAKAWAY -2. Adjacent
opposing characters of the same size or smaller can’t use ;Improved-M; ;A-Infinity; or automatically break away.


Would Plasticity stop a character using Hypersonic Speed from making an attack or moving afterwards (pending breakaway)?
ccraig
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:52 am

Re: Hypersonic Speed

Postby hcrulesteam » Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:35 pm

ccraig wrote:Would Plasticity stop a character using Hypersonic Speed from making an attack or moving afterwards (pending breakaway)?

No. If a character has to stop during it's first movement during Hypersonic Speed, it may still make the attack after the movement ends (if able). It may then use its second movement breaking away if required and then recalculating it's speed value .
User avatar
hcrulesteam
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 3:26 pm

Re: Hypersonic Speed

Postby mathman83 » Sat Oct 07, 2017 7:57 am

Hypersonic Speed says, in part, to
Move, then make an attack, then move up to ‘your speed value minus the number of squares just moved’.

Is it essential to make an attack in order to get the second movement action?
mathman83
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 11:00 am

Re: Hypersonic Speed

Postby hcrulesteam » Mon Oct 16, 2017 1:57 pm

mathman83 wrote:Is it essential to make an attack in order to get the second movement action?

No. If the attack is unable to be made or you have no legal targets, the second move still occurs.

Note that the movements in the action are not optional. You may not choose to not perform the movements (such as to avoid rolling for breakaway), but you may choose to move 0 squares for either movement.
User avatar
hcrulesteam
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 3:26 pm


Return to HeroClix Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests

Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php