Deep Space Nine - Quark

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Star Trek Mods

Deep Space Nine - Quark

Postby deltaangelfire » Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:03 pm

"At the start of the game, place 1 non-Borg Tech or Weapon Upgrade with a cost of 5 or less face down beneath this card."

1)Does this include faction and/or restricted ship penalties or bonuses?
2) Do you have to Pay for Quark's Upgrade?
3) Can Quark take Ship Restricted upgrades like "Shockwave" or "Combat Vessel Variant" for an inappropriate ship?
4) Can you change which upgrade Quark has between tournament rounds?
5) If Quark is moved from a ship onto the reinforcement sideboard, does his upgrade go with him?
6) If Quark starts the game on the reinforcement sideboard, does he still get to choose an upgrade to place under him?
User avatar
deltaangelfire
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 3:23 pm

Deep Space Nine - Quark

Postby jrmac » Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:21 pm

Quark's text read's 'At the start of the game, place 1 non-Borg [Tech] or [Weapon] Upgrade with a cost of 5 or less beneath this card' I have a couple of questions about the card, I've separated it out below.

1. Does the faction penalty apply to the card upgrades when calculating the cost of the card? i.e. would anti-matter mines (starter set) on a non-federation ship be considered 5, or 5+1 for the faction penalty.
2. Do penalties (i.e. +5 for cloaking device) apply when calculating the cost of the card? And so would they then be deployable?
3. Can card's with no fixed value (i.e. Dorsal Phaser Array - Enterprise E) be placed beneath the card?
4. Can a card such as Combat Vessel Variant (NiVar / Collective Op1), which specifies a class, be deployed to Quark to circumvent the class restriction? and or allow a second to be deployed to ship?
5. The phrasing 'at the start of the game' does this mean the upgrade can be swapped for a different one in between games?
jrmac
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:09 pm

Deep Space Nine- Quark

Postby ccg_bilge_rat » Fri Nov 07, 2014 6:48 pm

Quark reads: At the start of the game place 1 non-borg tech or weapon upgrade with a cost of 5 or less face down beneath this card.

Q1: If Quark is assigned to a borg vessel can you place borg cards under Quark?

Q2: When factoring cards to place under Quark do you have to add extra costs such as adding 5 points for reinforced structural integrity device? or do you just use the base cost?

Q3: Can you place cards that are faction specific such as multi-adaptive shields beneath quark?
ccg_bilge_rat
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 6:42 pm

Re: Quark

Postby stawrulesteam » Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:47 am

1: No. Quark's text expressly forbids placing Borg cards of any kind underneath himself.
2: Yes, you factor in the additional cost of those cards for not deploying them to the correct ship.
3: Yes. Be aware that if they cannot be purchased or deployed to the ship when they are revealed however they are discarded without effect.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: DS9 Upgrade Pack - Quark

Postby stawrulesteam » Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:21 am

1. Yes. You consider the cost of the upgrade as if you were purchasing it for the ship.
2. No.
3. Yes. cards are placed under Quark at the start of play. They are then deployed when Quark is discarded. Only the deploy part of Quark must be legal (ie, Quark may not deploy "Combat Vessel Variant" to a ship that already has a "Combat Vessel Variant".
4. Absolutely not. Squads are reviewed and approved by the Judge/TO at the start of a tournament and cannot be altered in any way.
5. Yes. His upgrade goes with him and remains face down and it remains with him if he is equipped or exchanged back onto a ship.
6. Yes. Treat the Sideboard as a ship with ‘universal’ faction when considering the cost of any upgrade to place under Quark if he is on your Sideboard. There is no faction penalty but other card text based penalties or restrictions would apply. Example, Quark on a Sideboard may place <Vulcan faction> Sensor Grid beneath his card but cannot place a Cloaking Device because the additional cost specified on the Cloaking Device card would make the upgrade too expensive for Quark’s limits. The upgrade underneath Quark is part of his own point cost and does not count toward the 20 points of captain and upgrades that are purchased for the Sideboard. When/If Quark is equipped to a ship using the Reinforcements Sideboard resource his chosen facedown upgrade is not revealed and goes with him. However, if when using his text he is discarded and his upgrade is turned face up and it is revealed that it cannot be purchased for or deployed to his current ship the upgrade is discarded instead.
For an example of a potentially illegal interaction; suppose he began the game on the Sideboard placing the 5 point Combat Vessel Variant beneath him would be a legal purchase. Suppose further that he is exchanged onto a Vulcan D’Kyr class ship from the Sideboard. This exchange itself is a legal game action but if he is discarded to use his text while on the D’Kyr class the text on Combat Vessel Variant restricts the class of ship for which it can be purchased and would be discarded instead.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Wave X DS9 Crew Upgrades Quark

Postby stawrulesteam » Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:27 am

1. 5+1, Quark could not take this upgrade.
2. They do apply and would not be usable with Quark if all applicable penalties would put them at costing more than 5 Squadron Points.
3. That is dependent on the situation. Calculate the cost of the upgrade as if you were purchasing it for the ship to which Quark has been purchased. If that number is 5 or less, including all other applicable point cost penalties then it may be placed under Quark’s card. If the calculated number is greater than 5 it cannot be placed under Quark’s card.
4. Yes but be warned. You can put the card underneath Quark but restrictions listed on the upgrade may prevent it from being purchased/deployed to the ship once revealed. Therefore, you could not circumvent ship class or faction restrictions nor could you deploy a second Combat Vessel Variant or Enhanced Hull Plating OR a unique upgrade that is already deployed to your fleet.
5. No. Absolutely not. Squads are reviewed and approved by the Judge/TO at the start of a tournament and cannot be altered in any way.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Wave X DS9 Crew Upgrades Quark

Postby tooze » Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:50 am

If you get a discount on a tech or weapon from a crew, captain, or resource, is that discount included in determining final cost of the card under quark?

Sovereign class ship with quark trying to equip Dorsal phaser Array. Would cost 6 points normally, but if the fleet included Independent Romulan Fleet Captain would the Dorsal phaser then cost 5 and be usable under quark
tooze
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 5:36 pm

Re: Quark

Postby charlesskrobis » Mon Nov 17, 2014 5:26 pm

Do faction penalties apply when placing a card under quark?
(Example, taking a projected stasis field under quark while on a romulan ship, no ship specific costs, just a faction penalty that would make the card 6 instead of 5 normally.)

Would a reduction card like fleet captain allow for a larger card to go under quark?
(Such the weapon fleet captain so that quantum torpedoes would now cost 5 instead of 6 and would then fit under quark on that ship.)
charlesskrobis
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 6:20 am

Re: Wave X DS9 Crew Upgrades Quark

Postby stawrulesteam » Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:40 pm

tooze wrote:If you get a discount on a tech or weapon from a crew, captain, or resource, is that discount included in determining final cost of the card under quark?

Sovereign class ship with quark trying to equip Dorsal phaser Array. Would cost 6 points normally, but if the fleet included Independent Romulan Fleet Captain would the Dorsal phaser then cost 5 and be usable under quark


Yes.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Quark

Postby stawrulesteam » Tue Dec 02, 2014 11:28 am

charlesskrobis wrote:Do faction penalties apply when placing a card under quark?
(Example, taking a projected stasis field under quark while on a romulan ship, no ship specific costs, just a faction penalty that would make the card 6 instead of 5 normally.)

Would a reduction card like fleet captain allow for a larger card to go under quark?
(Such the weapon fleet captain so that quantum torpedoes would now cost 5 instead of 6 and would then fit under quark on that ship.)


Yes, you would pay faction penalty for cards that are placed under Quark.
(Quark cannot take Projected Stasis Field on a Romulan ship due to the price. 5+1=6)

Yes, a card reducing the price of a card would also effect the card under Quark.
(The Fleet Captain that reduces the price of weapons would allow Quark to take Quantum Torpedoes on a Federation ship. 6-1=5)
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Next

Return to Star Trek: Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests

Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php